Remzi Cej

Manager of Skills and Training Policy in the Workforce Development Secretariat of the Department of Advanced Education and Skills, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador

Remzi currently works as Manager of Skills and Training Policy in the Workforce Development Secretariat of the Department of Advanced Education and Skills, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, and is also Chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Human Rights Commission.

Remzi has a combination of lived, community, and professional experiences. He is also a Rhodes Scholar and holds a Master of Philosophy in International Relations from Oxford University and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from Memorial University in German and French Studies. Remzi is an Action Canada public policy fellow and a Terry Fox Humanitarian Award recipient, as well as a two-time recipient of theYMCA Peace Medal for Human Rights Education, and was awarded the Queen's Diamond Jubilee medal for his contributions to Canada.

In 2015, Remzi was one of 12 prominent Canadian human rights defenders featured in educational materials by theSpeak Truth to Powerproject of the Robert F. Kennedy Centre for Human Rights, the Canadian Teachers' Federation, and Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami.Remzi enjoys photography, learning languages, and dancing. He takes a special interest in social innovation.

Remzi Cej

Gestionnaire de la politique sur les compétences et la formation au secrétariat du développement de la main-d'œuvre du ministère de l'Éducation supérieure et des Compétences du gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Remzi travaille actuellement comme gestionnaire de la politique sur les compétences et la formation au secrétariat du développement de la main-d'œuvre du ministère de l'Éducation supérieure et des Compétences du gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador; il est de plus président de la Commission des droits de la personne de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

L'expérience de Remzi vient à la fois de son vécu ainsi que des milieux communautaire et professionnel.  Boursier Rhodes, il est titulaire d'une maîtrise de philosophie en relations internationales de l'Université d'Oxford ainsi qu'un baccalauréat ès arts (avec distinction) en études allemandes et françaises de l'Université Memorial. Fellow d'Action Canada, Remzi est récipiendaire du Prix humanitaire Terry Fox ainsi que récipiendaire à deux reprises de la Médaille de la paix du YMCA pour l’éducation en matière de droits de la personne; il a de plus reçu la médaille du jubilé de la reine Elizabeth II pour ses contributions au Canada.

Remzi faisait partie en 2015 des douze éminents défenseurs canadiens des droits humains présentés dans du matériel pédagogique par le projet Speak Truth to Power du Robert F. Kennedy Centre for Human Rights, la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants ainsi qu'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami. Remzi aime la photographie, apprendre des langues ainsi que la danse.  Il s'intéresse particulièrement à l'innovation sociale.